June 23, 2006

Boney James Has Five Vocalists On New CD

Boney James' CD Shine will be released on Sept. 26.

BoneyJames_live.jpgSaxophonist Boney James calls Shine, his 10th CD and first for Concord Music Group, an upbeat and positive work that features many of his musical influences. The 12-song CD – with nine originals and three covers – has a guest performance by guitarist George Benson on the song “Hypnotic,” marking the first time the two smooth jazz powerhouses have collaborated together. Benson is also recording an album for Concord, a duets project with Al Jarreau.

Also guesting on Shine are pianist George Duke and five singers: R&B vocalists Dwele on a cover of the Dramatics’ “In the Rain”; Faith Evans; Phillip Bailey; gospel vocalist Ann Nesby, who sings on a cover of a song Chuck Mangione recorded in 1975 called “Soft”; and chill-influenced vocalist Esthero. James also adds an instrumental cover of Antonio Carlos Jobim’s bossa-nova classic “Aguas de Marco.”

Shine willl be released Sept. 26.

1. Shine (Boney James/Lily Mariye/Laren Evans) (With Esthero)
2. The Total Experience (Boney James/Johnny Britt) (With George Duke)
3. Aguas de Marco (Antonio Carlos Jobim)
4. Let It Go (Boney James/Rex Rideout)
5. In The Rain (The Dramatics) (With Dwele)
6. Gonna Get It (Boney James/Rahsaan Patterson) (With Faith Evans)
7. Breathe (Boney James/Phil Davis)
8. Love Song (Boney James/Eric Daniels/Johnny Britt) (With Phillip Bailey)
9. Hypnotic (Boney James) (With George Benson)
10. The Way She Walks (Boney James/Leon Bisquera)
11. Dedication (Boney James/Joe Wolfe/Gerald McCauley)
12. Soft (Chuck Mangione) (With Ann Nesby)

Posted by Brian Soergel at June 23, 2006 8:48 PM