February 6, 2007

Jeff Lorber's New CD: He Had A Hat

Grammy-nominated keyboardist and producer Jeff Lorber has just wrapped up production of a brand-new CD that is mixed by Paul Brown and produced by Blood, Sweat & Tears original member Bobby Columby, who produced the last two best-selling CDs by trumpeter Chris Botti.

The CD, He Had a Hat, is a 13-song project with 10 songs co-written by himself and Columby. The CD, due in April, also features a tune written by Bill Withers, “Grandma’s Hands,” that features vocalist Eric Benet. Another song, “Orchid,” is co-written by Botti and features soloing by the trumpeter. “The Other Side of the Heart,” co-written by Paula Cole, features Cole and Benet on vocals. Among the other new songs are “Anthem for a New America,” “All Most Blues,” “BC Bop,” “Hudson” and “Super Fusion Unit.”

Guest artists include Gerald Albright, Kirk Whalum, Brian Bromberg, Randy Brecker, Paul Jackson Jr., the Blood Sweat and Tears horn section, Hubert Laws and Tom Scott.

He Had a Hat Track Listing

1. Anthem for a New America (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
2. He Had a Hat (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
3. Grandma's Hands (Bill Withers)
4. Surreptitious (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
5. All Most Blues (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
6. Orchid (Jeff Lorber/Chris Botti)
7. BC Bop (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
8. The Other Side of the Heart (Paula Cole/Jeff Lorber)
9. Hudson (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
10. Super Fusion Unit (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
11. Eye Tunes (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
12. Requiem for Gandalf (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)
13. Burn Brightly (Jeff Lorber/Bobby Columby)

Posted by Brian Soergel at February 6, 2007 8:52 PM