Big Sam's Funky Nation

  • Posted on
  • by
  • in

bigsamsfunkynationtipitinas.jpgLadies and Gentlemen, Dolls and Cats, Mommas and Papas� As the anniversary of Hurricane Katrina came and went, several displaced artists were and are still struggling to find their way. However, the world-renowned Big Sam and his Funky Nation are back and funkier than ever and are still funkin� around New Orleans, Louisiana and other places. BSFN�s second independent release is Take Me Back and its right here in� The Hot Seat.

Big Sam, a New Orleans native, graduated from New Orleans Center for the Creative arts in 1999. Other famous names to attend this institution include, Branford, Wynton and Jason Marsalis, Nicholas Payton, Harry Connick Jr., Irvin Mayfield, Terrance Blanchard, Christian Scott, and many others. This trombone player along with his nation recorded their first release, Birth of a Nation, in 2003 in New Orleans. This current project, Take Me Back, was released in 2006 and features the New Orleans historical �second line� music.

Many songs on this project include lyrics that promote dancing, shaking, happiness, and getting down right funky. One song in particular would be BSFN�s personal invite to New Orleans. "Come Down To New Orleans" includes all of the most popular Cajun phrases and invites listeners to partake in Mardi Gras and the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival. While in another song, "Funky People", BSFN wants to help you free yourself.

More than half of the tracks on BSFN�s latest project are funky without Big Sam�s vocals. Instead, they feature Big Sam�s gruff trombone riffs, electrifying electric guitar solos from either Matthew Fricke or Elliot Cohn, funky bass from either Nori Naraoka or Kenny Green, and rockin� drums from either Ian Hodge or Eddie Christmas. Also featured on this project is trumpet player Andrew Baham, saxophone player Jim Mara, and Josh Paxton and Adam Matasar on keys.

One funky instrumental track is "Funkin�@ The Butt". This song references to The Funky Butt, a jazz club that was located on N. Rampart Street in downtown New Orleans prior to Katrina. This particular club was where many big names were able to come by and let loose in a comfortable environment. It just so happens that the current owner, Shanekah Peterson-Williams, is the recent bride of Big Sam (9/3/06). It has been heard that The Funky Butt will return.

For more information on Big Sam�s Funky Nation visit

album%20cover.jpgTRACK LIST
1. Shake Yo Thang (3:38)
2. Party (3:24)
3. We Gon Do It (4:15)
4. Bah-Duey-Duey (3:23)
5. Funkin' @ The Butt (3:49)
6. Come Down To New Orleans (4:22)
7. Funky People (2:44)
8. Get Down (2:11)
9. It Is What It Is (2:34)
10. Hey Buddy (3:20)
11. Thank U & Farewell (3:53)