Pat Metheny Tops JazzTimes Poll

Once again, Grammy Award-winning guitarist Pat Metheny has been named Best Guitarist in the annual readers poll conducted by JazzTimes magazine. In addition, readers named the Pat Metheny Group the top Contemporary/Electric Group. Elsewhere, the late saxophonist Michael Brecker won as Artist of the Year and for New Release for his Pilgrimage CD, which was released after his death. Brecker was also voted by fans into the JazzTimes Hall of Fame.

Other winners include Kenny Garrett, Best Alto Saxophone; Dave Valentin, Best Flute; Poncho Sanchez, Best Percussion; Stanley Clarke, Best Electric Bass; and the late Joe Zawinul, Best Electric Keyboards.

All of the results are the February edition of JazzTimes, which hit newsstands this week.